Gappiya and the Sri Lankan Expat Dream

This is the first time I’m posting a video on my blog, I believe.

If you don’t know this guy, I hope you are not Sri Lankan. If you are Sri Lankan (or not) and you don’t know this guy, get to know him.

Gappiya is one of the best Sri Lankan Youtubers out there.

I like the little skits he has directed (and acted in) on his channel, mostly dealing with what migrants from Sri Lanka experience overseas (Australia, in his case).

The video I posted here is one of my favorites from his channel. Why do I say this? Because this video shows what the dream of most Sri Lankan expats (okay so perhaps some of you out there may not want to be rappers, but you would like to be someone awesome eh?).

I know there will be some who say “um no thanks I just wanna live a simple life” etc, but come on, deep down inside most of you (if not all of you) would love to be recognized, be valued and be famous. Don’t put yourself down for feeling that; it’s the human condition.

We all have egos. And we need to validate ourselves to feed our egos. The more validation we get, the bigger the ego. The bigger the ego, the more validation.

Everyone wants to be validated. Especially Sri Lankans. Esespecially, Sri Lankan expats.

Yes I just made that word up.

Thanks Gappiya.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on May 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
