Office Day

Cursor blinks over and over again. I sit in front of my computer staring at what is essentially a blank slate. What should I write about today?

Normally at this time of the day I would not write anything of this sort. I would be busy working. But today due to a quirk of fate, I have some free time in my hands and therefore thought that it would be better spent venting my creative energy. What I have learned through my recent years of misadventures is that this creative energy if left dormant, usually manifests itself in uglier forms. It makes me an ugly person. Ugly on the inside that is.

It’s about a quarter to four in the afternoon. My boss is sitting close by talking a project manager and an engineer. They seem to be quite engrossed in whatever they are discussing about. The two engineers behind me seem to be quite caught up in their discussion as well. I’m sure this must be quite interesting to them, whatever it was.

I could eavesdrop, but what would be the point of that?

We had an earthquake drill earlier today. It was fun. Everyone had to go under their desks and hold on to something. Generally I would think that most people would laugh it off but our office actually went ahead with it. They’re cool like that.

My mind returns to the present and everyone is still talking. There seems to be some sort of an excited buzz going around in the office today. Maybe something happy has happened to one of them and everyone is happy about it? Or maybe they’re discussing sports? I’m not sure. I have my headphones on, with Massive Attack playing at a reasonably high volume. I could take it off and eavesdrop. But why bother?

I like working with my headphones on. It helps me focus on whatever I’m doing instead of getting distracted by conversation happening around me. The sort of music I listen to has very little or no lyrics in them. It’s almost like a meditative technique to absorb myself in that and drift off to my “zone”. I find myself very productive when I enter that state.

They’re staring at me! At least they were when I looked up briefly while typing this. They all looked away of course. The gleeful talking resumed. I’m guessing they made a comment about me being oblivious to everything. I could take my headphones off and ask them about it, but why bother? My blog post is coming up pretty good and I’m definitely “in the zone” now.

I’ve had this blog for a few years now. Couldn’t put anything new up for the past few months though. I would put it down to writers block and lack of inspiration, but then I would be lying. It was mostly because I was busy at work and when I finally got home I was too lazy. Plus, my home really isn’t a good environment for making blog posts. I really need to get an external keyboard for my old laptop… some of the keys have started to not respond.

Okay now they are definitely staring at me. I didn’t look up but I can see it from the corners of my eyes. They’re still talking to each other and giggling while they’re staring at me. I can’t really figure out what they are saying. The music is a tad bit too loud. Maybe I should reduce the volume? Nah. I’m too in the zone now. Maybe after I write my blog post.

I guess I’m not a very famous blogger. I don’t blog regularly enough for that. I guess if I did I would have way more followers and I could probably even make money out of it? That’s a good thought.

Okay now they’ve stopped talking altogether and are just grinning at me. I have no idea what on earth is going on. I’m looking at them peripherally, and from what I can see their grins aren’t the usual happy grins you see on their faces in the morning. Something must really be going on. Well I’ll get to know in a minute after I finish this blog post.

Well I guess I should start blogging regularly. Maybe I should have a theme for my posts and focus on a specific subject? Software solutions seem to be a popular subject. I’m working on quite a few technologies so maybe I could blog about the stuff I figure out as solutions. That would surely get me a lot of traffic.

This is getting creepy. They’ve moved closed to me. I can feel them grinning at me or my screen. I think my boss is right behind me. Normally he would stare at the screen for awhile and tap on my shoulder and make a joke about whatever that was on my screen. This is probably a big joke of some sort. The grins are creepy though. Hey this is actually a great idea for a future post! Imagine your office is full of secret psychos or something and they’re all conspiring to kill you? That would be such a creepy story!

I love writing creepy stories and I think about 70% of my blog posts are creepy stuff. I don’t know why I am so disturbed. My friends have called me a little paranoid and some have even called me a total schizophrenia case (not professional opinions though, so they don’t count!). Hey I just enjoy the general creepiness of things.

This is crazy they’re so close now I can feel their breath on me. Okay guys I know you’re staring at my screen now. I’m ignoring you! 😛 Now shoo! Go away! Seriously though good work on the creepy grins guys. Just let me finish this post and I will join in the creepiness. 😛

I should definitely do the whole secret office psycho thing in my next blog post. It would be opwiasg;asdhiosaddf hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Well they certainly looked very happy about the whole thing.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on September 26, 2012.

3 Responses to “Office Day”

  1. haha good one

  2. So why were they being creepy?

  3. Aren’t your office friends creepy, PD?

Leave a Reply

 
