Hunger

I can’t really remember when it all started to be honest. But I can tell you that it has been happening for quite sometime now. The voices, the shapes that dart in and out of the corners of my vision… and of course the urges… I think I find them to be the most disturbing aspect of them all.

Going to work is easy enough. It’s fairly routine, my life; considering that I have to be at work by 8:30 am in the morning and leave sometime after 5:30 pm. For some reason though, I prefer to leave around the time the building closes, that’s around 7.00 pm on most days.

I guess it’s because the voices sound louder and the shapes seem more solid as it gets darker during the day. I prefer that to the alternative: going home during daylight and interacting with absolutely no one along the way or after I get home. Well it’s not like the voices actually communicate with me. Mostly it’s a series of incoherent whispering or mumbling of multitudes of faint voices of indistinguishable gender, age or nationality.

Maybe this is something about me that you may find disturbing. But honestly, I have come to appreciate the voices and the shapes. In fact, I find myself quite lonely on the days I don’t see them.

That’s really all good with me. The problem is the urges. I don’t really know why I get them. Most of the time it’s unrelated to the voices or the shapes. What kind of urges? Mostly a sense of hunger… thirst sometimes. I get it from time to time, especially when people sit close to me enough for me to smell them. Oh they smell so delicious.

But that’s something you’re not supposed to feel towards fellow human beings isn’t it? I know you’re not supposed to. That is why I avoid people, you see. I don’t want to end up eating them.

Well it all changed on the day I met her. Of course it has to be a girl. That makes the story interesting doesn’t it?

What can I say? She was a breath of fresh air! Here I was moping around about being lonely and thinking about old failed relationships and blam! She walks into my life just like that! Out of nowhere, mind you.

She was quite pretty; had a good sense of what to wear and when to wear them. Kind and considerate. Funny and caring.

She also smelled absolutely appetizing.

So I had to plan things well. Had to lure her out, which took days! Had to lure her out to the park at night. We met often at that park. It is a nice place to sit down and talk about things. You should go there sometime.

To cut a long story short, I had to make it quick. I didn’t want her to suffer. I did like her you know. But I was sloppy. It’s not like I’ve done this before either right?

I must say that she tasted quite good. But I couldn’t finish her because you got to me first. That was really too bad, because there’s a significant amount of her left in my freezer; and it’s all going to waste! Such a shame don’t you think?

But here’s the best part. The more I ate her flesh the clearer the voices seemed to get. And I could see the shapes better too! In fact, I don’t have to wait until dark to see them because I can see them right now.

They’re standing right next to you. I wish you could see them. They’re smiling at you. Yes you, officer.

Oh you feel dizzy? Better call for a doctor. Or not. Ha ha!

It’s all fading away isn’t it? They are doing this thing to you right now, depriving you of your life-force. Do you know what that is? That’s the juice you run on. You can probably see them right now. I’m sure you can, judging by the look on your face. You would have been screaming right now, but you just don’t have enough energy left do you?

Well these cuffs you put on me are really tight. Very uncomfortable. Let me get those keys from your belt.

My friends are snuffing out your other friends in the station. It will make it easy for me to get away you see. I have to get back to her…

Oh wait… you probably moved the body. Plus I think I would have to move somewhere you can’t find me. No worries. It’s no big deal. My friends are going to help me find a new place they say.

But I do feel hungry. And you smell so very appetizing…

They want me to eat you now…

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on February 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “Hunger”

  1. Nice one man! 😀

  2. Oh wow….Just can’t believe you have had these thoughts…cannibalistic!

Leave a Reply

 
