Portals

I used to have a big crush on this guy, but he had always been a bit of an asshole so I never actually dated him. But that was back in high school.

He now sat opposite to me, in the crowded cafe and sipped slowly on his coffee. His face should have been younger according to the age he was supposed to be. But it was not so. It was somehow older, more worn and faded than it should have been.

“Tell me,” he said softly, while staring at his coffee “what do you know about portals?”

He looked into my eyes with a piercing stare that I had not anticipated.

“You mean, like… doorways to another dimension?” was my awkward answer.

He held his gaze and did not smile. It was nigh impossible to comprehend his emotions at this point; all I could tell was that he was keen to know my opinions.

“Doors, windows, gates..” he spoke, with the same unfathomable stare “Call them what you like. What do you think about it?”

I gulped involentarily. This was supposed to be a friendly meet up after a very long period of little or no interaction between us. Yet, I felt like I was being interrogated.

“I… I guess it’s possible… I mean they’re talking about wormholes and stuff right? How they can maybe go from a place to place through those things? Teleporting and stuff right?”

He didn’t speak for sometime; but he slowly leaned back on his chair and turned his eyes towards his cooling coffee. The silence persisted for a longer time than I could bear.

“You’re seeing me after three years and you’re asking me about portals?”

He laughed softly and took another sip of his coffee.

“You dumb bitch.” he said dismissively “You have no idea do you?”

I was too confused to be offended.

“What the fuck are you talking about?” my voice was shaky. Guilt?

“You were always such a stupid cunt you know…. but I don’t blame you. You’re too preoccupied with your bullshit ideologies and celebrity gossip to give a fuck.” Did he sound affectionate?

“You’re confusing me! Just like you did in highschool! Seriously if you weren’t such an asshole I would have even dated you…”

I should have told him that six years ago; it would have mattered then. Now, he just laughed at me.

“You always were a stupid little bitch. But you’ve got a nice rack I’ll tell you that.” he winked.

Now he was starting to piss me off.

“Look, I don’t know if this is your way of picking up women, but seriously what the fuck?? I thought we’re still friends!”

“I thought you aren’t friends with assholes.” he smirked. What a cocky bastard.

“I said don’t date assholes… Honestly now I’m questioning our fucking friendship!” I’m certain people in the cafe were staring at me now.

“Anyway, let’s back to the main topic for today: Portals.”

That was it.

“Fuck you!” I screamed. The people in the cafe were watching me now. I could feel them staring at me and I knew they all had their mouths open. “Fuck you and your fucking portals!!!”

I got up, grabbed my handbag and headed straight at the door. He was laughing at me now. His laughter was not the laughter I knew from his younger days. This was a more menacing, hideous and insane laughter of that teenaged boy I once knew and had a crush on.

As I walked out the door of the cafe, his laughter faded away, and so did the rest of the sounds. My anger was enveloping me like fire.

And then I realized that I was not where I was a second ago. The landscape had changed again. The buildings had faded away and were replaced by a small group of cottages surrounded by flowers and wild plants. Little children played in the countryside.

There was a small park bench upon which I spotted an old friend of mine. He was a guy I knew from high school, who I used to have a crush on. I don’t think I’ve seen him in over three years. It was odd that he looked a bit older than he should be. I think I could even see a gray hair or two on his head. He looked right at me and I knew he recognized me right away; yet it was hard to say that too, because he expression was nearly unreadable. But I am sure he recognized me.

So, I went over to him , smiled and said hello. He gave me a pretentious smirk.

He had always been a bit of an asshole.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on September 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Portals”

  1. oh superb!

  2. thanks dee 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
