Iridium – Part II

By the time Ketu opened his eyes, both the storm and the darkness of night had passed. There seemed to be a strangeness in the air about him, perhaps caused by the insistent yet soft whistling of the wind that flowed through the cracks of the old windows in this arcane tower in which he sought refuge. To be alone in such a massive structure with only the sounds of the wind was certainly an eerie experience. Yet Ketu felt relieved that he had escaped his potential captors last night, and had not been buried alive in the rain of sand.

Feeling curious, he made his way to the top of the stairs, ignoring the hunger and thirst that had plagued him from the last night. Perhaps there was something in the great tower that was calling him. And now, he almost seemed to faintly here the voice of this invisible apparition.

Soon he was greeted by a massive metal door, that seemed to block the way to the top of the tower. It seemed to be sealed shut, as there seemed to be no hinges around it, nor did it seem to split in the middle. But Ketu could see that it was a door nevertheless. And to his surprise, it vanished.

The pure illogical event that just occurred in front of his own eyes left him momentarily confused, for Ketu was not used to such things. Yet, the bright flashing lights of the darkened room in front of him seemed to call out to him, luring him into its mysterious depths, perhaps to his own doom. Yet he found that he could not resist his own curiosity. His tribe always considered him to be too curious, perhaps even more so for his own good.

The room slowly grew brighter as a lone column of light began to materialize in its centre. Ketu froze in his tracks, unable to comprehend the nature of the occurrence before him. The light grew brighter and brighter, and amidst it he began to see the slow formation of a shape. The shape of a woman, made of light.

Ketu prostrated himself before the Goddess.

“What is your name, child?” her voice was unearthly, unlike that of any man nor woman he had ever heard. It was as though many were speaking as one, and somehow it assured him that she was not, nor has ever been, human.

“I… I….” he stammered “I am Ketu….. from the Southern Sand Tribe…. please forgive me for coming here… I didn’t know it was your temple… please don’t kill me!”

“I know that you came in search of refuge, Ketu.” she answered. He looked up at her dazzling form, to perhaps see her smile. But he saw nothing but her glowing featureless shape, made of vibrant golden light that seemed to pulse strangely now and then, void of rhythm.

“I saw you flee your would be captors. I opened this sacred space for you, Ketu, so that you may speak to me in person. It is an honour that is rarely bestowed upon any mortal.”

“I am grateful! I am grateful!” Ketu cried. “What do you wish from me shining one? What do you need this lowly mortal to accomplish for you?”

“Your faith of me, though born a moment ago, seems strong, mortal.” the Goddess spoke. “Thus I choose you to be my servant. You have much to do for your Goddess. And you shall begin immediately.”

“But first, I know that you are hungry, Ketu. You seem weak for one of your age. Go forth to the north of this tower, and you shall find your meal. Consume it, and return to me immediately, for it is I that has provided you with it, and thus your life. I can also take your life, if I so wish!”

“Yes! Yes indeed!” cried an alarmed Ketu, “I shall go immediately… Thank you shining one… you are indeed my saviour today and forever more!”

Outside, to the north of the tower, Ketu found two dead rabbits, burned by an unseen fire. They lay there, waiting for him to consume them, as the Goddess had promised.

His stomach purred in content as he devoured the dead rodents, and Ketu finally felt that there was a purpose in his life other than to survive.

The tower glinted in the morning sun, overlooking the dead city of the Shining Goddess.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on September 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
