Oblique

I saw you walking towards the seats
You didn’t see me yet
But oh I saw you, and after such a long time!
I ran to you and we hugged

I didn’t want to let you go
Looking into your eyes
The smile you smiled and how much I missed it
Little did I know that nothing was right

Thirty days or so later
I am sitting next to you
“It’s okay” I said, “It’s all for the best”
You were silent, you nodded

I did not want to part ways
Only you did, “For the best” you said
My tears were long gone
But on that last day they were only yours

That one last hug was brief
I could feel the fear and the sadness
And perhaps even regret
But it was too late to turn back

Now over sixty days afterwards
I feel strangely free
The dreams I killed for you, resurrected
My life, Oblique

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on August 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
