Thoughts on Living

Why do we live?

Different people have different answers to this question. Some of us live to enjoy life. Some of us live because we feel we’re obligated to do something. Some people live because they are too afraid to die. Some people live for themselves, while some people live for others.

In any case, how many of us truly live our lives?

I’ve heard a saying that goes “Death is not the sad thing; the sad thing is that some people never really live.” What does that mean? Does this broad category of zombified non-living people now include me? I don’t know.

What I do know is that I am enjoying my life, because everything I do is based around it. I know people who base their lives on their career or their reputation. For me, it’s the other way around.

Because if you don’t live your life, somebody else will.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on June 15, 2010.

One Response to “Thoughts on Living”

  1. Getting old starts when regrets take the place of dreams.

Leave a Reply

 
