On Predetermination

At times I wonder if there is any real sense of making choices on this world. Sometimes everything just seems to be predestined, much like a script of a play or a movie, where somebody has already decided that this is what’s gonna happen and that we make all the choices according to them. Sometimes I think that choice itself is an illusion. This is something I have been struggling with for most of my days here on this world in my life. Somehow it doesn’t seem to bother everyone else. They seem to be so comfortable with the life around them and seem to have completely accepted everything about it. I don’t understand how they can do that.

How can they not even bother to question the very essence of life? How can it not matter to them?
Am I really just a puppet of the universe? Are all these thoughts and decisions I make in my mind predetermined? If my current thought process is influenced by actions and experiences of the past then it means that they are not actually “my” thoughts aren’t they? They seem to be just results of what has already happened around me. Doesn’t that make you think that you don’t actually exist as a separate entity, but your existence itself is merged with the existence of everything else that makes you exist?

Then what is the purpose of our existence? Who defines this purpose? Can we define it if our act of definition itself is predetermined? I don’t know. I don’t think anyone does. Many world religions believe that God decides this. They believe that God sets our purpose in life and that we must fulfill it. But who decides God’s purpose? They say that it doesn’t matter since “God” is eternal. But that itself is a definition isn’t it? Who defined it? God? How can God be the ultimate definer? What if there is something that precedes God? And then something that precedes it?

The universe seems to be endless… there does not seem to be an end or beginning to it. It seems to go on and on. So does my existence as it is so tied together with the existence of everything else. I seem to influence so many things as well as been influenced by so much more. When does this cycle begin? When does it end? I think I answered that before. Or did I? This is truly perplexing. No wonder most people ignore this. I suppose that’s the smart thing to do.

Did I decide that, or was it already decided for me to decide?

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on December 13, 2009.

5 Responses to “On Predetermination”

  1. […] Lankan blogger Mindwind ponders on the philosophical questions surrounding choice and predetermination Cancel this […]

  2. […] Lankan blogger Mindwind ponders on the philosophical questions surrounding choice and […]

  3. Dear Sir/Madam,

    I have already published a book “On predetermination” in Japanese in 2001. I showed mathematically that all the Universe are predetermined and we can not change any apart of them. If you want to know about it, please send me an e-mail to “moongentle@aol.com”. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Takaaki Miyasaka, M.Sc.
    Yokohama Japan
    E-mail: moongentle@aol.com

  4. Wonder if it is predetermined for me to email you or not… hmmm…

    • Dear Mr. Prageeth Thoradeniya,

      Of course it is predetermined.
      It is the fundamental principle of the mathematical structure of the Universe.

      Takaaki Miyasaka, M.Sc.
      E-mail: moongentle@aol.com

Leave a Reply

 
