Concerning green things, and other related issues

Hello guys, girls and google!

Sorry for not writing for a long long long time. I simply wasn’t in the mood to write anything. All my writing had pretty much been limited to Youtube comments, emails and facebook group stuff. Even so, they were mere paragraphs, single sentences or an enthusiastic yet short “LMAO!” (in the case of a Youtube comment).

So I decided to enlighten you of my latest endeavors and other lovely things.

Some of you know that I am a vegetarian since Aprillish. To those of you who do not know this, it may come across as a shock. Well to be honest I still drool a bit when I see meat (old habits die hard), but I figured out that we can actually do away with our old natures. So why am I a vegetarian? Several reasons of course:

1. I don’t want any Animals to be killed because of my greed. I eat meat because I am greedy for it, not because I need meat to live. How selfish am I to kill an animal for my own greed? People say that since I don’t kill it, it’s not a big deal. But then again, I PAY the guy who kills it even though I don’t kill anything myself. This just means that I don’t have the balls to kill something, so I get some other guy to do it. What does that prove?

I understand that many small animals are killed during farming vegetables and that some people consider Plants to be sentient beings too. But I need to eat something to live. I just want to minimize the loss of lives on my account.

2. To control my desire for food. I’ve always been a very greedy person, and eat like a pig often. But I realized that I’ve been greedy enough and that I need to get over it. So I began this regime of physical torture (it’s difficult to not eat that steaming prawn dish sitting inches from you… you know?) and mental discipline. But all of that hard work does pay off in the end. There is this strange sense of satisfaction and well-being in it. A sense of contentment. Hmm…

To sum that up: I used to live to eat, but now I eat to live.

Before people start getting defensive, I’m not telling any of you to become a vegetarian. That’s your choice. I am just showing you why I am one.

Well aside from that, I’ve been spending sometime outdoors these days… Mostly in my garden at home. It’s so refreshing to re-connect with the natural world, after working for hours on the computer and seeing nothing but man-made stuff. It’s a good way to relieve stress, since I can just “be there” in the garden and not in the tangle of random problems. 

Of course, this doesn’t mean you should run away from your problems. One must face one’s problems. But it’s nice to take a break once in awhile. It also helps you to see things a little more objectively, as well as to put things in perspective.

During these few weeks, I have realized that we humans have so many gifts in our lives… yet we don’t use half of it. Instead we want more. The media doesn’t help either, advocating consumerism. Everyone is trying to sell happiness to us… saying “this is the best” “you won’t be satisfied without this”. And we gullible sheep fall for it. We’re all victims of this madness.

I don’t watch much TV now, nor play many video games. I prefer to spend my time resurrecting old hobbies that used to give me so much joy and meaning. How many of these old habits have we discarded simply because society and media said that they were “useless” or “childish” or “boring”? We’ve wanted to fit in so much, that we’ve killed bits of ourselves… cutting pieces of ourselves off to fit into the slots “mainstream” made for us. 

Can we grow these pieces back?

Peace out brothas, sistas and porcupines!
Prageeth

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on May 12, 2009.

One Response to “Concerning green things, and other related issues”

  1. Good to see ya back on this dude 🙂 & good on ya for giving me something to think about

Leave a Reply

 
