Boredom Brings Brain Beseeching

Boredom is eating me up. I’m tired of reading about Flex really. Is there anything I can do to entertain myself? Inaction is killing me. I can only imagine how long I would last in solitary confinement with absolutely nothing to do. I think I would go mad really. No contact nothing. What if I woke up one day and found out that I was the last human being on earth? Would all the past I had with the rest of my kind matter to me? Would I feel liberated and do things I would never have done ever?

 I don’t really know the answers. But it feels so alone right now. Maybe because everyone else has something to do and I don’t. So I’m using this time to improve my typing skills as well as to program my subconscious on the positions of the keys on the keyboard. The thing about typing on word is that it would automatically correct whatever I type regardless of any errors present. Therefore I would be stuck in the illusion that I have typed the correct thing although I have not. This really sucks when it comes to improving my typing. But it makes the whole thing fun to read anyway.

 By doing this I am encouraging my hands to work as fast as my mind. I know it is impossible though, judging by recent experiments in my dreams. I realized that sounds I heard during sleep from the real world were translated immediately into the dreams, corresponding to actions happening in the dreams. Since the dreams are made up in the mind, I can only assume that the mind works ultra fast to create these fantasies with the data it gathers in real time. This obviously means that the mind is much more powerful than any other computing mechanism ever invented.

 Can we harness this raw power and use it for conventional computer systems? Perhaps if we can replicate the brains systems and mechanics on a computer we may be able to achieve this. But this would involve much faster processing than our current processing systems. According to Buddhist studies, the mind can only think of one thing at any given moment. And a moment is only a fraction in time. How long is a moment? We do not know.

 I just realized that by tapping into this insanely fast processing system, we can become computers ourselves and get our minds to do amazing feats and be almost 100% correct at all times… also to act faster than we usually do. I suppose even our sense readings are slower than the actual processing speed of the mind. This means that the neuro-conduction velocity, if beaten by conscious processing of the mind, would lead to things appearing to move in slow motion or rather some sort of a time variation flux. What I mean by that is our perception of time and change in time would change in such a manner that we should be able to perceive events in better depth and richness; hence super-reflexes and apparent omniscience.

 Is this perfection of our ability the “superpowers” we hear about in ancient texts? I do not know. I have heard the stories of people gaining supernatural powers like omniscience and telepathy… this could all just be the brain processing more information the senses perceive from the surroundings than a normal brain would. Such individuals would be perceived as having “supernatural powers” and be worshipped as gods even.

 So telepathy may just not be what we think it is. It may not be an actual transmission of thought, but rather one brain recognizing many physical factors of the other person at supernormal speeds, constructing conclusions out of the enormous amount of data it collects in such a short span of time. I have noticed my subconscious doing this, especially when I solve problems intuitively. Intuition may just be logical thought (as we usually think) but accelerated into extreme speeds of execution by the subconscious.

 The subconscious, being essentially an automated part of our psyche which acts as the interface between the consciousness and the senses can be programmed to handle tasks. After all, it handles the tasks of walking, drinking, eating etc, which requires many parts of the body to function in unison. This synchronized activity, when replicated in robots have proven to be quite complex in nature. If you don’t believe me, try making a robot that can walk on two legs. There are so many factors to consider for that simple operation such as muscle movement, balance and direction. All these little factors are automatically calculated by the subconscious and executed, allowing us to perform actions without really focusing on them. All the conscious mind has to do is to give out the order for their execution.

 For example, as I type this essay I do not look much at the keyboard or the screen. Rather I look at the people surrounding me or what little I can see of the street outside the office window. I have successfully programmed my subconscious on the function of typing, including various positions of the keyboard and can now type as if the keyboard is an extension of my body. The same thing happens when I drive my car. The car feels as an extension of my body. I don’t focus on shifting gears or steering. It happens automatically. I consciously make decisions on where I want the car to go, and my subconscious performs the actions necessary such as small steering, acceleration and gear adjustments.  That’s how we function.

 Using this theorem, it is possible to program your subconscious to do any kind of task that you like. For example, it is useful in martial arts, where you can program it to execute the necessary muscle movements and balance shifting for a kick. Let us say that this is a roundhouse kick. We program the subconscious by practicing this kick mindfully over and over again. Eventually, the subconscious absorbs this knowledge and all the conscious mind as to do is to make the decision to perform a roundhouse kick. Even more advanced is the fact that you can program your subconscious on the events that would trigger this action automatically. For example, you can program it to execute a roundhouse kick when the opponents head is open in a certain position.

 The result is amazingly fast “reflexes” and automated fighting. This can be applied to so many physical and mental activities. We have taught our subconscious to talk automatically when we desire to express ourselves. We can teach it to add numbers, multiply etc etc. And if we are able to harness the speed it can give us, we can indeed become superhuman.

 I suppose that is enough boredom-induced writing for awhile.

~ by Prageeth Thoradeniya on January 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “Boredom Brings Brain Beseeching”

  1. :I woah

  2. You make me feel stupid.

Leave a Reply

 
